Return to Headlines

LT Changemakers

Fifteen LT upperclassmen have been selected for the Community Memorial Foundation’s Young Community Changemakers (YC2) leadership development program designed to educate and empower local youth to become the next generation of philanthropists. These students will join 45 others from Nazareth, Riverside Brookfield and Hinsdale Central, and together will have an opportunity to help award up to $30,000 in grants to local organizations. The program is based on the vision that young people need opportunities to develop the skills to be the future leaders and stewards of our community.

YC2 students can make a positive impact in their community. Participants will visit local organizations, delve into community needs and grant money to important causes. Unlike other volunteer opportunities, YC2 puts the decision-making power directly into the hands of students, empowering them to be a changemakers in their communities.

These 60 students selected as Young Community Changemakers will begin by exploring their local community and its social challenges; philanthropic theory; organizational evaluation and grantmaking. Students will review grant applications from local organizations, conduct site visits, and at the end of the semester-long program, award up to $30,000 to nonprofit organizations that further the mission and vision of Community Memorial Foundation.

LTHS Principal Brian Waterman said, “LT is honored to be working alongside other area high school students and participating in the Changemakers Program. In addition to building leadership and gaining a better understanding of the importance of philanthropy, students will have an opportunity to make a real impact on our communities.”

YC2 students from LTHS include:

Gianna Annella, Junior    
Natalie Carlisle, Senior   
Connor Crowe, Junior    
Abby Deuter, Junior   
Caroline Hart, Junior   
Casey Hart, Junior  
Ava Hays, Junior   
Abby Hennessy, Senior   
Emmett James, Junior  
Tiernan Kelly, Junior    
Sophie Kostal, Junior    
Erin McVady, Senior    
Grace Newman, Senior   
Ana Lucia Ochoa, Junior    
Joe Patel, Junior