Return to Headlines

New Director of Equity and Belonging Named

The District 204 Board of Education named Dr. Jennifer Rowe as the Director of Equity and Belonging for Lyons Township High School District #204.

Dr. Rowe began her career in education in 1998 teaching English. After 11 years in the classroom, she served as a dean of students at Metea Valley High School for 10 years, and for the past two years, she served as Executive Director of Educational Equity at Indian Prairie School District 204.

Dr. Rowe says, “In the new Director of Equity and Belonging role, my focus will be working with the LT community to cultivate a culture that centers on equity and supports educators in their practices and approaches as we work to best serve all of our students and their individual needs. This role is such a special one as it allows for engagement with students, collaborating with teachers, providing a global perspective as a part of district leadership, and fostering relationships with members of the community.”

Superintendent Dr. Brian Waterman says, “Dr. Rowe’s previous experience will undoubtedly help LTHS make an immediate impact, with a renewed focus and attention on equity. I am confident she will help our organization incorporate a focus on equity and belonging in every decision we make.”

 “Continued growth and success demand diversity and the understanding that multiple perspectives have value. By having such a position, it truly demonstrates that the community values equity and belonging and understands how it connects to academic success, social emotional learning, wellness, and all other aspects of developing citizens who value all people in a diverse world,” Dr. Rowe added.

“Equity and belonging are interwoven in all aspects of school and community, and I am looking forward to being a part of this ongoing equity journey with LTHS” she said.

Dr. Rowe received a bachelor’s degree in English from University of Ohio and earned a master’s degree in Curriculum and Instruction and a doctoral degree in Education from Loyola University, Chicago.